In and Out of the Marshes

There is something so beautiful about the prospect of leaving your cares behind and taking off on an incredible journey. Or at least there’s something beautiful about the way that it sounds in theory. As Ann Vanderhoof and her husband hemmed and hawed on the idea of putting professional lives on hold and sailing thru the Caribbean, the proof was in the pudding that dreams such as these are not to be taken lightly in the slightest.

The train makes for nice reading…Riding back from Philly (you know, the trip for Oranges), I had a great time delving into this beautiful book. And then life kind of jumped in and threw a lot of things off.

What you readers don’t know (lest you know me of course) is that about a year and a half ago, I lost my aunt to Ovarian Cancer. This February, I lost my uncle to Laryngeal Cancer. Throw in dark winter, a knee injury, work stress and a few common challenges and you have one soggy mush of a mango known as Curly. Many days I would have loved to put my life in a box on the shelf and set sail as the Vanderhoofs did. To leave behind what ailed me.

But you know what they say about what doesn’t kill you….

Thanks to some amazing friends, loving family, a beautiful mountain retreat (where I really DID get to step away from it all!), and a renewed strength and faith, I have finally emerged from the marshes. Perhaps not so gloriously as in a sailboat on the Caribbean (it just sounds like it would be more amazing looking), but with the best grace I can put into anything I do. And as the school year ended and I put my ideas into the world, I was pleasantly surprised that I hadn’t lost all my creative energy and that I don’t have to be afraid to put my foot in the door. THIS, dear readers, was what probably ailed me most. The fear, the reluctance to share what was in my heart and mind. And now that I have that back, as Stella found her groove, I am ready for whatever – including getting back to my reading and sharing my mango adventure! The water is bluest where you make it – and the water where I’m floating is so crisp and clear, I want to sail on it forever.

And that’s just what I’ll do.

Leave a Reply

